Major Hyatt Gold Passport Changes Announced

This post may contain affiliate links from our advertising partners, such as American Express. Read my Advertiser Disclosure policy here. Some of the offers below may have expired or are unavailable on our site at this time. Terms Apply to Offers. Offers for the Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express, Amex EveryDay® Preferred Credit Card from American Express, Starwood Preferred Guest® Credit Card from American Express, Platinum Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express, and Delta Reserve® Credit Card from American Express are not available through this site. All information has been independently collected by PMM and has not been reviewed or provided by the card issuer.

Over this weekend, Hyatt posted on Flyertalk, some major negative changes to their Gold Passport program.

They are raising award prices for Category 5 and 6 hotels, and they are adding a new Category 7 level.


The Park Hyatt Beaver Creek is moving to a Category 7 property.

“As you know, Hyatt and the Hyatt Gold Passport program continue to grow and evolve, and from time to time we need to make programmatic changes. We don’t take these decisions lightly, and we do our very best to make sure that we communicate changes as quickly as possible to minimize the impact on your future travel plans. Today, I wanted to let you know about a set of Award Chart changes that will take place on January 7, 2014.

We are introducing a new Category 7, which includes six Park Hyatt hotels in Beaver Creek, Milan, Paris, Sydney, Tokyo and Zurich, and requires 30,000 points. We are also changing the number of points required to redeem a Free Night Award for standard rooms and upgraded rooms in select categories.

In addition, 38 hotels are shifting between categories. This includes 21 hotels moving to a higher category and 17 hotels moving to a lower category. Existing reservations for stays starting January 7, 2014, will receive a refund for the point difference if the hotel moved to a lower category.
Lastly, the points required to upgrade your paid stay to a Regency®/Grand Club® room or suite will now be on a per-night basis.

As always, we will continue to make redemption as easy as possible with no blackout dates. And if we have a standard room available at any location, on any day of the year, you’re more than welcome to reserve it with your Hyatt Gold Passport points.”

Here the current Hyatt Award Chart:

Screen Shot 2013-11-11 at 12.09.46 PM

Here is the new Hyatt Award Chart:

Screen Shot 2013-11-11 at 12.09.51 PM

Bottom Line

This is a negative change to the Hyatt Gold Passport Program., and some of these prices now are more closely related to Starwood’s redemptions.

Starwood has seven categories and their highest level also requires 30,000 points, so I can’t help but wonder if Hyatt is just trying to copy them. What are your thoughts?

Sign up for Email || Twitter || Facebook || Tips & Tricks

Hotel Offers || Airline Offers || Bank Offers || Cash Back Offers

The Platinum Card® from American Express Editorial Note: Opinions, analyses, reviews or suggestions expressed on this site are those of the author’s alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any card issuer. This post was accurate at the time of posting, offer may be unavailable on this site at a later time. For details on current offers visit the card issuer’s site.
American Express® Gold Card

About Points, Miles & Martinis

Here at Points, Miles and Martinis, we love all things travel. We focus on topics relating to travel including destinations, airline, hotel, car rental and credit card reward programs. Our goal is to help people travel better. - See more at our About Us page.

Sign up for Email || Twitter || Facebook |Tips & Tricks
Hotel Offers || Airline Offers || Bank Offers || Cash Back Offers


  1. I am so tired of airlines & hotels constantly raising their redemption point values. There really is no point in loyalty anymore, when points are worth next to nothing. I try hard to stay with Hyatt whenever I can, but is it worth it when I am rewarded less and less?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *