Delta’s Latest Change for Diamond Medallion Members

Our site may contain affiliate links. Read Advertiser Disclosure policy here. Some offers may have expired or are unavailable at this time. Terms Apply to Offers.

When it comes to changes with Delta, most of them are usually not in the customer favor, so I was a little wary when I heard about this latest change, however it’s rather neutral in my opinion. It has to do with Delta Choice Benefits for Diamond Medallions.

Delta SkyMiles Diamond Medallion Members will be getting a new option when it comes to their Choice Benefit selection coming in 2017. They’ll now have the choice to choose between 4 Global or 8 Regional or 2 Global and 4 Regional (2017 Medallion Year only) upgrades.

As a reminder, here are the details on the upgrade certificates: 

Global Upgrades are available on all Delta routes and Regional Upgrades are available on the same routes as Medallion Complimentary Upgrades and effective July 21, 2015 for nonstop flights between JFK-LAX and JFK-SFO. Global and Regional Upgrade Certificates have a higher priority than Medallion Complimentary Upgrade requests. Both can be used on all paid published Main Cabin fares except for E class (Basic Economy) on Delta-operated flights.

Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 5.57.12 PM

Bottom Line

It’s nice to see this new addition for SkyMiles Diamond Medallion members on the choice benefit selection, however if I was Diamond, I would choose the 4 Regional Upgrades when hitting Platinum, and then choose the 4 Global Upgrades when hitting Diamond, since those have a lot more value and can be used on international flights for Delta One.

What are your thought on this latest change?

Hat Tip: One Mile at a Time

Editorial Note: Opinions, analyses, reviews or suggestions expressed on this site are those of the author’s alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any card issuer. For details on current offers visit the card issuer’s site.

About Points, Miles & Martinis

Here at Points, Miles and Martinis, we love all things travel. We focus on topics relating to travel including destinations, airline, hotel, car rental and credit card reward programs. Our goal is to help people travel better. - See more at our About Us page.

Sign up for Email || Twitter || Facebook |Tips & Tricks
Hotel Offers || Airline Offers || Bank Offers || Cash Back Offers


  1. “however if I was Diamond, I would choose the 4 Regional Upgrades when hitting Platinum, and then choose the 4 Global Upgrades when hitting Diamond” — Did you mean in the same year?

  2. @DL PM – It took me a moment as well. What Delta means is half regional and half global.

  3. Yes in one year you can get 4 RUC and 4 GUC. Last year I went with all 12 RUC as I was flying domestic. I love the change this year and will likely go with the 8 RUC and 2 GUC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *